Food Observations

A blog for eaters

Nuevo Grill & Cantina 

We had a pretty good dinner recently at Nuevo Grill & Cantina. I ordered the “Chimichanga Crispa”. Not sure what “crispa” means but it wasn’t very crispy.  The chimi starts with your choice of marinated sirloin or chicken breast, jack and cheddar cheeses, and refried beans. The whole affair is rolled into a flour tortilla, and “gently” fried to a golden brown. It’s then topped with ranchero sauce, diced maters, and scallions with sour cream on the side. I got the sirloin version for $13.49. I particularly like their grilled steak which is always lean and flavorful. 🙂

I requested “no beans” in my chimi and it came out made with beans. 😦 They quickly remade it. 

So, the menu says it’s gently fried and I can attest to that! I’m used to chimichangas that are quite a bit crispier and fried longer – this one wasn’t like that. It was still good, I liked it. Just not the classic taco shop chimichanga I’m accustomed to. I might try some of their burritos next time. 

Over the many years I’ve eaten here, there’s been a couple times where the chips change. I don’t know if it’s their supplier or what. Usually it’s consistent with their numerous “Best of Ramona – Chips & Salsa” awards. The chips this visit were terrible. Not their usual award winning chips, known for being hot and somewhat greasy. These were just flat and flavorless for some reason. I did notice that the salsa has a kick to it now! Used to be fairly bland, but last night’s salsa was perfect. Maybe they have a new salsa recipe. (Please go back to the old chip recipe) 

And of course I always love their big 25 ounce frosty draft beer mugs.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

