Food Observations

A blog for eaters

The Par Lounge

Par Lounge (Oaks Grille) for New Years dinner tonight. Went out on a limb and ordered the “Korean Glazed Salmon”. For $19 it’s grilled Atlanticsalmon with a Korean BBQ glaze, rice pilaf and a Thai slaw.  This was an impressive dish and the kitchen delivered a fantastic presentation. Salmon was cooked perfectly with a nice exterior sear and moist, flaky center. Not at all overcooked! I considered the portion to be just right.

It was served with a fairly conservative amount of rice pilaf that I didn’t really care too much for. A lot going on here. Not sure what all was in it, but not really the traditional pilaf I’m used to. Not terrible, but I’m not gonna sugarcoat it… I would have probably liked the dish better with just a side of fries.

I was expecting the Thai slaw to be a more featured component of the plate, but it was basically just a garnish on top of the salmon.  

For $3 extra I started with a cup of clam chowder. Of all the times I’ve eaten here I never tried their clam chowder. It was better than I expected. I would order this again! Full of tender potatoes, bacon and clams. And most importantly, no sand! I did have to add some salt & pepper though.


Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

