Food Observations

A blog for eaters

Mi Ranchito Taco Shop 

Mi Ranchito has been under fire recently so I decided to go there for breakfast this morning. I’m not going to get into the merit of all the criticism because people have their own opinions, standards, expectations, etc. and I respect that.I ordered two beef flautas for $4.50. You can get them individually for $2.25 each. The flautas rest atop a bed of shredded lettuce, then are topped with sour cream and shredded cheese. The whole thing is served on a narrow foam tray.

For decades I’ve eaten flautas at various taco shops throughout SoCal and these are pretty average sized. I’ve been to some places where they come out looking like small chimichangas!  

Here at Mi Ranchito they tasted just fine and two filled me up. They are filled with a fairly conservative amount of tender shredded beef.

Tortilla was nice and crispy; they were not at all greasy. I thought the amount of sour cream on top was reasonable and appropriate. Any more and it would have turned into a hot mess.  

The young lady behind the counter this morning was very nice. No issue at all with the service today. I have noticed them to be somewhat surly in the past.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

