Food Observations

A blog for eaters

Up the Hill Grill 

We recently ordered from My Orange Crate again and I have to say this service is a godsend! My time is of great value and to not have to drive into town for carry-out and deal with all the rigmarole, etc., is worth the modest delivery fee. When I ordered on a Friday night, the system quoted an estimate of 60 minutes. I had my food in 40 minutes!  We ordered from one of our favorite places, Up the Hill Grill. Gail got her usual “Mountain Man Burger” with onion rings (pictured below). I chose the “Chef Salad”.

According to their menu, the Chef Salad is made with turkey, ham, bacon, smoked cheddar, swiss, and a hard boiled egg on crisp greens with cucumber, cherry tomatoes, radishes & croutons (your choice of dressing).

First observation, there were no boiled eggs or croutons! Lettuce was one of these fancy, eclectic mixes that I liken to tissue paper. It was decent, but I think I would have preferred just good old iceberg and romaine! The “smoked cheddar & swiss” was more like an institutional pre-shredded Kraft Mexican cheese blend. Lastly, my dressing choice was not the best. I chose blue cheese, which did not hold up well in transit. While it was packaged in a separate, sealed container, it seemed to almost separate and become rather unappealing. I’d recommend an oil/vinegar type dressing if you choose to have this delivered. Part of the problem might have been that UTHG packaged the cold and hot food together in the same bag.


Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

